IT is the most dynamic industry. Back in 2000, having a company site was a luxury or was often denied by conservatives. The words of Bill Gates: “If you are not on the Internet, you are not in business,” some companies began to understand only in this millennium. After creating the site, immediately raises the question of how to monetize traffic. And here information technologies offer us a lot of ways, most businessmen prefer the most famous ones, such as contextual advertising, SEO, etc. And in order to get customers, they increase the budgets for these channels, ignoring the golden rule: keeping the customer is much cheaper than finding a new one.
Today we will see how much cheaper it is to retain customers using the POZVONIM callback service compared to the price of attracting new visitors with standard promotion channels.

After analyzing the indicators before and after announced by our customers, we found that, all other things being equal, regardless of the industry, the use of the POZVONIM widget increases sales by an average of 30%.
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How much is + 30% of customers attracted by standard Internet marketing methods
For greater clarity of comparison, we will take sites with an attendance of 3000 people / day (geography of Moscow) from radically different spheres:
- sale of flowers via the Internet,
- sale of cell phones,
- sale of industrial electric motors.
In accordance with the analysis of the
average conversion by branches for 2014, the average daily number of sales for these industries is 90 (3% of attendance).
Based on the average increase in the number of customers using the POZVONIM deduction service by 30% (+27 people / day), we calculate the costs of obtaining them for the types of business under popular traffic channels:
- SEO,
- Contextual advertising,
- CPA networks,
- Advertising in social networks.
The costs of obtaining an additional 27 customers using POZVONIM can be calculated immediately using a calculator on the service website:

Online flower shop: attraction or retention
SEO VS POZVONIM for online flower shop
Methods for calculating the cost of promotion are many, not one of them is accurate, so we will take to calculate one of the popular services.
To get 27 orders / day through search promotion, you need to provide SEO traffic in the amount of 900 visits per day.

The average predicted cost of the transition according to the service: 29.83 rubles. So, to get 27 orders / day you need: 29.83 rubles. * 900 = 26848,59 rub.
Contextual Advertising VS POZVONIM for an online flower store
For example, let's take contextual advertising Yandex.Direct.

When translating the average price of a click into rubles at the rate of Yandex.Direct (1 cu = 30.00 rubles) for the entire batch of keywords, we get: 386 rubles / click. Total, the cost of 900 visits required, taking into account the average conversion to obtain 27 orders per day: 347400 rubles.
CPA-networks VS POZVONIM for online flower shop
Customer cost at vendors of leads and affiliate program aggregators varies, often consisting of a deposit (from free to 50,000 rubles) and direct payment for the lead (20 - 60% of the product value).
Take the cheapest option, no deposit, lead costs 30%.
The average price of a bouquet in Moscow in the region of 3000 rubles. Then the payment for each client will be: 900 rubles. Total 27 clients / day cost: 24300 rubles.
Advertising on social networks VS POZVONIM for online flower shop
For example, we use targeted advertising on the social network VKontakte. Price strategy: payment for the transition.
With the filter "Moscow, any floor, from 18 years old" we get a recommendation for 34.66 rubles / click, for a total of 900 clicks - this is 31194 rubles.
Summary information on the price of 27 clients and profit from various sources for their online flower shop:

Cell phone sales: attraction or retention
SEO VS POZVONIM for the sale of cell phones
Taking into account the calculated average predicted cost of the transition (15.78 p.) 900 visits / day (that is, 27 orders) through SEO will cost: 14,202 rubles.

Contextual advertising VS POZVONIM for the sale of cellular phones
Average cost per click in rubles: 45.7 rubles / click. The cost of 27 orders per day: 41130 rubles.

CPA-networks VS POZVONIM for the sale of cell phones
Based on the missing deposit and payment of 30% for a given client with an average smartphone price of 7,000 rubles, we get payment for 27 clients in the amount of: 2100 * 27 = 56,700 rubles.
Advertising on social networks VS POZVONIM for the sale of cell phones
With the filter "Moscow, any floor, from 18 years old" we get the same recommendation for the price: 34.66 rub / click, for a total of 900 clients - this is 31194 rub.
Summary information on the price of 27 clients-buyers of cellular telephones and the profit of the company-seller with various sources of their receipt:

Sale of industrial electric motors: attraction or retention
SEO VS POZVONIM for the sale of industrial electric motors
The average price of the transition according to service forecasts: 7.94 rubles. So, 27 clients / day will cost: 7.94 rubles. * 900 = 7146 rub.

Contextual advertising VS POZVONIM for the sale of industrial electric motors
The average transition price in rubles: 64. The cost of 900 transitions: 57600 rubles.

VS POZVONIM CPA networks for the sale of industrial electric motors
With an average check for industrial electric motors in Moscow equal to 11,000 rubles, we get a fee for 27 clients: 11,000 * 0.3 * 27 = 89,100 rubles.
Advertising on social networks VS POZVONIM for the sale of industrial electric motors
Not the best way to advertise for such a sphere and, nevertheless, with the filter “Moscow, male sex, from 24 years old”, we get the same recommendation for the price: 34.66 rubles / click, for a total of 900 transitions - 31194 rubles.
Summary information on the price of 27 clients and profit from various sources of their receipt:

Summary data: price comparison of 27 customers

So, we have simplified, but indicatively, the example of the thesis that customer retention is much cheaper than attracting new ones. And if you don’t use this method in your practice, it’s time to start. After all, the widget for feedback POZVONIM is convenient for the client, for 23 seconds, automatically connects with him by phone and provide all analytics, including records of sales department negotiations. You can try the product features
on our website .
